2014 Annual Meeting – Caribbean Philosophical Association

La Fondation Frantz Fanon a participé à la réunion annuelle de l’Association caribéenne de Philosophie.

Shifting the Geography of Reason XI : Diverse Lineages of Existentialism—Africana, Feminist, and Decolonial

June 19–21, 2014, Hyatt Regency, St. Louis, Missouri

Click here to view the program

In recent years, existential thought has been revitalized by a new generation of theorists investigating questions of gender, race, and sexual orientation. They have brought to light numerous ways in which existentialism has contributed to, and been shaped by, Africana philosophy, Latin American philosophy, feminism, and the work of literary writers and performing artists.

Initiated by the publication of the Beauvoir Series at the University of Illinois Press and the Caribbean Philosophical Association initiatives for the study of relations across gender, race, and sexuality, and global collaborations connecting the region to intellectual work in countries ranging from India to Japan, Senegal and South Africa, to many across the Caribbean, South America, and the globe, the goal of the conference is to overcome isolation, bringing together a wide variety of scholars to share their research on the diverse lineages of existential thought—especially the unique challenge to questions of existence posed by thought from the Global South.

This conference will be the first formal collaborative meeting of the Caribbean Philosophical Association, the Simone de Beauvoir Society, the Jean-Paul Sartre Society of North America, and the Collegium of Black Women in Philosophy. The following journals have also agreed to publish selections of the best papers from the conference : Simone de Beauvoir Studies ;The Caribbean Journal of Philosophy ; The Journal of French and Francophone Philosophy ; The C.L.R. James Journal ; Sartre Studies International.

For more information :

A cette occasion le Prix Frantz Fanon, attribué chaque année par la CPA chaque année, a été décerné à trois auteurs

The Frantz Fanon Prize is awarded annually in recognition of up to three works in or of special interest to Caribbean thought. The nominations are made during the fall of each year, and the winners are chosen and announced by February of the succeeding year. The plaque of acknowledgment is given at a ceremony and book session at the annual conference of the Caribbean Philosophical Association. Only books published within 6 years of the nomination date can be considered for the award. Each winning author automatically becomes a member of the committee for the prize.

The Caribbean Philosophical Association is pleased to announce the 2014 recipients of the Frantz Fanon Prize for life-time achievement and outstanding book in Caribbean thought. The awards will be conferred at the Caribbean Philosophical Association 11th Annual International Meeting, which will be held in conjunction with the meetings of the Simone de Beauvoir Society and the Jean-Paul Sartre Society. The meeting will take place June 19 to 21, 2014, in St. Louis, Missouri. For more information on the conference, click here.

The Frantz Fanon Lifetime Achievement Award

Leonard Harris

A pioneer in the academic study of African American philosophy with his groundbreaking Philosophy Born of Struggle and The Philosophy of Alain Locke, Harris continues to be at the forefront of building bridges across the full spectrum of Africana thought through the work he has done for UNESCO and the Philosophy Born of Struggle Society. The Awards Committee noted his philosophy of insurrectionist ethics, his critical challenges to American philosophy, and his important mentorship of several generations of scholars. Africana philosophy (all fields), Caribbean thought, Latin American philosophy, and cross-racial work in feminist philosophy would not be what they are without the important foundations Harris set for their development. Says Jane Anna Gordon, President of the Caribbean Philosophical Association : “Philosophy Born of Struggle is the precursor to what the Caribbean Philosophical Association has built on. It made the clear case that in addition to doing scholarly research and writing demonstrating the theoretical insights emerging from political struggle, it is essential to build institutions that will nurture it. Professor Harris is a pioneer and consistent leader in that regard.”

Abdul JanMohamed

JanMohamed is receiving this award because of his pioneering work on Frantz Fanon in the areas of postcolonial thought and cultural studies and for scholarship that connects Fanon’s ideas to such figures as Frederick Douglass and Toni Morrison and to his own groundbreaking insights on psychoanalysis and Marxism. Finally, his work as an institution builder, which includes being the founding editor of Cultural Critique, has opened intellectual spaces for generations of scholars. Says President Jane Anna Gordon, “Shifting the geography of reason includes rearticulating the predicaments out of which historic thought has emerged. Professor JanMohamed’s highly illuminating research into the subjective experiences not only of enslaved people but also those among them engaged in mothering is a prime example of such an important endeavor.”

The Frantz Fanon Award for Outstanding Book in Caribbean Thought

Levinas and the Postcolonial : Race, Nation, Other
By John Drabinski

According to the committee’s report : “Levinas and the Postcolonial is a work that takes Levinas scholarship out of its exclusive dialogue with other European philosophers and opens it up to new geographies of reason. Drabinski refers to this new exchange as the ‘decolonizing’ and ‘creolizing’ of Levinas. These two terms point to the profound influence of Frantz Fanon and Edouard Glissant, two postcolonial scholars from the Caribbean island of Martinique…. Also important in this conversation are the figures of Gayatri Spivak, and Homi Bhabha from India, and Subcomandante Marcos of Mexico. The combination reflects the creative synthesis of a book worthy of the Fanon Prize.”

Past winners of the Fanon awards include Paget Henry, Walter Mignolo, Brinda Mehta, Enrique Dussel, Molefi Asante, Michel Rolph-Trouillot, Drucilla Cornell, Linda Martín Alcoff, Susan Buck-Morss, Alejandro de Oto, Catherine Reindhart, Elias Bongmba, Sibylle Fischer, Patricia Donatien-Yssa, Nigel Gibson, Bernard Boxill, Angel Quintero Rivera, Marilyn Nissim-Sabat, Oscar Guardiola-Rivera, Keith Sandiford, Nathalie Etoke, Carlos Rojas Orio, and Fernando Picó.

For a more extensive list of Frantz Fanon Prize Recipients, please click here.

JPEG - 16.3 ko

« Chaque génération doit, dans une relative opacité, découvrir sa mission, l’accomplir ou la trahir »
F. Fanon, Les Damnés de la Terre (1961)

A propos admin 569 Articles
Fondation Frantz Fanon